High possiblity of Haruhi license
A mysterious website, asosbrigade.com has been spotted. It foretells the end of the world on 22 Dec and has copyright information for Noizi Itou and SOS-dan in Japanese.
The title bar says “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya - Haruhiism - North America“. I assume the “a” in the URL stands for “America”.
The hidden text in the source code says 「禁則事項は12月22日公表します。」 or “the kinsoku jikou will be revealed on 22 Dec”. The domain is registered to a US address through a US registrar. The IP itself appears to be hosted at Hurricane Electric, a US colo provider.
The inclusion of copyright information is unusual for a fansite. (We are a bunch of pirates.)
All signs point to a R1 Haruhi license announcement in 4 days.




December 19th, 2006 at 1:38 am
Licence </nitpick>
December 19th, 2006 at 1:43 am
haha it doesn’t matter really but fuck the dubs
Trackback from
Kita ze Inbou! - キタぜ陰謀! » Wildfire Report: Haruhi getting the license treatment?December 19th, 2006 at 2:04 am
[...] As has been mentioned at Anime on My Mind and Ramblings of DarkMirage the html code suggests that it is a U.S. site and that there’s a possibility the company may even be Funimation. Kurogane has also made a report on the news stating that he too believes it’s a possible license announcement. [...]
December 19th, 2006 at 2:45 am
If they bring out a DVD Boxset which is affordable (read: CHEAP) i´ll think about it …
December 19th, 2006 at 3:32 am
A homepage with incorrectly encoded EUC-JP text hidden in the source, à la haruhi.tv (which seems to be down, by the way)–doesn’t that sound like, much too geeky a stunt for US distributors to pull?
December 19th, 2006 at 4:24 am
How did you go about reading the incorrectly converted Shift-JIS encoded text?
I’m just curious to know if there’s an easier method than how I did it.
The hidden comment is clever, but it’s aggravating that they go to the trouble of hiding a clever comment without giving us a clue.
December 19th, 2006 at 4:25 am
Incorrectly *declared* Shift-JIS, I mean. I hate spammy corrective comments, but that made me sound like an idiot.
December 19th, 2006 at 5:16 am
Jippi! *makes the Hare Hare Yukai-dance*
This could be something like that hack made by the frog on ADV´s site. After that ADV decleared they had the series. So this could be done by ADV or Funimation. Shiawase!
HARUIISM FOR EVERYONE!
December 19th, 2006 at 5:58 am
It’s pretty much certain that it isn’t a fake. The owner of animeondvd.com (the site that stealthly linked to the page in the first place) even changed his avatar to the Haruhiism pic today.
Another thing worth noting — today is the day when the events of volume 4 occur.
December 19th, 2006 at 7:13 am
Good thing my class doesn’t have any class presidents, then.
December 19th, 2006 at 8:04 am
>Another thing worth noting — today is the day when the events of volume 4 occur.
Ho ho, could they be toying with us?
December 19th, 2006 at 9:03 am
December 22nd is when the new Transformers Live-Action trailer comes out, come on peeps, its Transformers, not stupid Haruhi.
December 19th, 2006 at 11:08 am
Mac, you can manually change the encoding in the View Source window if you are using Firefox.
December 19th, 2006 at 12:09 pm
>>Ho ho, could they be toying with us?
Maybe not with us, but…
http://www.haruhi.tv
December 19th, 2006 at 12:51 pm
Anime on DVD seems to know something too. Every S and O are red in today’s entry.
Someone has it’s license.